2010 Book Summary

(A la Jessamyn)

number of books read in 2010: 34
number of books read in 2009: 74
< didn’t keep track 2006, 2007, 2008 >
number of books read in 2005:  37
number of books read in 2004: 46

average read per month: 2.83

average read per week:  .65
number read in worst month: 1 (Jan, Dec)
number read in best month: 4 (Feb, Mar, June, Nov)
percentage by male authors: 26% (9)
percentage by female authors: 74% (25)
fiction as percentage of total: 97%
     crime fiction as percentage of fiction total: 71%
non-fiction as percentage of total: 3% (1 book)
percentage of total liked: 56% (19)
percentage of total ambivalent: 32% (11)
percentage of total disliked: 12% (4)

Notes:

Obviously, I read fewer books in 2010 than usual, though 2009 was an aberration (spouse was away for most of 6 months). And it felt like it. Often I just didn’t feel like reading, or when I did read, it was more likely to be blog entries or non-fiction of all lengths online, or non-fiction articles in a few print sources (The New Yorker, The Wall Street Journal, The Oldie, Horticulture).

We were just away on vacation for 2 weeks, including two 24-hour periods on the train, and I read nothing but a very long article in an old New Yorker about John Lurie, and a shorter one in the same issue about Agatha Christie. I also read quite a bit online while on the train, via my smartphone.

I have been reading several non-fiction books in small doses all year (all Girardian in topic) but I didn’t finish them so didn’t count them.

Still have no interest in any ebook. Between the smartphone for current non-fiction articles, and actual books and magazines for longer and shorter fiction and non- pieces, I feel I have more than enough reading material.

Leave a comment