I said I was an addict — I didn’t say I had a problem

housewilson

Watched most of the first season of House MD in the past two days:

Cameron: Is that rhetorical?
House: No, it just seems that way because you can’t think of an answer. (Pilot)

“I’m bad at search parties and I’m bad at sitting around looking nervous doing nothing.” (Paternity)

Wilson: You want to come over for Christmas dinner?
House: You’re Jewish.
Wilson: Hanukkah dinner. What do you care? It’s food, it’s people.
House: No thanks.
Wilson: Maybe I’ll come to your place.
House: Your wife doesn’t mind being alone at Christmas?
Wilson: I’m a doctor, she’s used to being alone. [House raises his eyebrows] I don’t want to talk about it.
House [quickly]: Neither do I. (Damned if you Do)

Wilson: “I’m not gonna date a patient’s daughter.”
House: “Very ethical. Of course, most married men would say they don’t date at all.” (Fidelity)

“Life sucks. Your life sucks more than most. It’s not as bad as some, which is depressing all by itself.” (DNR)

Wilson to House: “You know how some doctors have the Messiah complex – they need to save the world? You’ve got the Rubik’s complex; you need to solve the puzzle” (DNR)

House: How do I abuse you?
Foreman: How do you not? If I make a mistake…
House: I hold you accountable, so what?
Foreman: Dr. Hamilton forgives, he’s capable of moving on.
House: That is not what he does.
Foreman: I screwed up his case. He told me…
House: He never said you were forgiven. I was there — he said it was not your fault.
Foreman: So?
House: So, it was. You took a chance. You did something great. You were wrong, but it was still great. You should feel great that it was great. You should feel like crap that it was wrong. That’s the difference between him and me. He thinks that you do your job, and what will be will be. I think that what I do and what you do matters. He sleeps better at night. He shouldn’t. (DNR)

Wilson: “Did your pager really just go off, or are you ditching the conversation?”
House: “Why can’t both be true?” (Histories)

“I take risks, sometimes patients die. But not taking risks causes more patients to die, so I guess my biggest problem is I’ve been cursed with the ability to do the math.” (Detox)

“Very noble gesture. My favorite kind – dramatic, yet completely empty.” (Sports Medicine)

House to Wilson: “I’m not the cancer doctor who’s lying about the cancer dinner.”  (Sports Medicine)

House to Cameron: “I’m twice your age, I’m not great looking, I’m not charming, I’m not even nice. What I am is what you need. I’m damaged.”  (Love Hurts)

House (talking about himself and visions he had): “The patient was technically dead for over a minute….”
Wilson: “Do you think he was dead? Do you think those experiences were real?”
House: “Define real. They were real experiences. What they meant, personally, I choose to believe that the white light people sometimes see, visions, this patient saw: they’re all just chemical reactions that take place when the brain shuts down.”
Foreman: “You choose to believe that?”
House: “There’s no conclusive science. My choice has no practical relevance to my life, I choose the outcome I find more comforting.”
Cameron: “You find it more comforting to believe that this is it?”
House: “I find it more comforting to believe that this isn’t simply a test.” (Three Stories)

If you can fake sincerity, you can fake pretty much anything. (Honeymoon)

Wilson to House: “Be yourself. Cold, uncaring, distant.”

House to Wilson: “Please, don’t put me on a pedestal.”  (Honeymoon)


Leave a Reply

