Absolutely Fabulous Mimesis

Edina Monsoon and Patsy Stone
Edina Monsoon and Patsy Stone

I think it’d be great to write (or read) a dissertation titled “Absolutely Mimetic: An Exploration of Status, Rivalry and Identity in AbFab.”

But for now, just some quotes:

______________________________

I’m sorry if that sounds selfish, sweetie, but it’s me! Me! Me! – Eddy to Saffy, Birthday

______________________________

The more I love myself, the more I will be loved. The more I love myself, the more I will be loved. I will be thin and fabulous and live life every second to the fullest. This is not my fat. It has followed me from another existence. It is not the fat of now. — Eddy, The Last Shout

______________________________

Eddy: What do you see when you look in the mirror, darling?
Patsy: Me looking fabulous. What do you see?
Eddy: Yeah …  Just the room.   (Fear)

______________________________

Eddy to Bubble via phone: I’m chanting as we speak.

Eddy to Saffy, listening skeptically: You’re not a Buddhist, darling, you wouldn’t understand.  (Fashion)

______________________________

Saffy (about Jackie): What gives her the right to treat people like that, Mum?
Eddy: She’s THIN   (Happy New Year)

______________________________

Eddy: Pats. Pats. You know, like, when you are in a room or something, and you think someone is like staring at you …
Patsy: In a room?
Eddy: Or in a plane.  Anywhere … anywhere … And you’re sort of doing things because you think someone is looking at you, like people are looking at you, you know?
Patsy: On a plane?
Eddy: Well, anywhere … anywhere … And then you look at them and they’re just sort of asleep but their head is flopped in your direction, you know? Well, I don’t want THAT to happen. I don’t want THAT to be my life, you know. The whole world asleep.  (Fear)

______________________________

Patsy (about Penny): Ok, ok, ok, she’s here. Eddy, great news!
Eddy: [gasps] She’s fat!
Patsy: No, no, no. Better than that.
Eddy: She’s dead!
Patsy: No. She’s blind!
Eddy: YES!! She’s blind! Yes!!  (Fat)

______________________________

Eddy: You cannot give these sort of clothes to the poor! God, I’m sure they’ve got enough to contend with without the added humiliation of wearing last season’s, sweetie.  (Birth)

______________________________

Eddy: Who wouldn’t suffer a minor coronary for that degree of weight loss, I ask you?

Saffy: Look mum, all you’ve got to do is eat less and take a bit of exercise.

Eddy: Sweetie, if it were that easy, everyone would be doing it.   (Fat)

______________________________

You cannot find yourself through massage! — Saffy to Eddy

______________________________

Eddy: What you can’t tell about a person from what they have chosen you to see on their coffee table isn’t worth knicker elastic.  (Hospital)

Leave a Reply

