30 Thoughts in 30 Mins

Or rather, 18 thoughts in 30 mins, from April. I found this list (inspired by Dave Pollard’s post) when I was getting things ready to pack for my trip to NH tomorrow to buy a(nother) house!

I remember, in April, not being able to think of anything new after a while. My brain went kind of dead. I think I’ll try it again this weekend and see what happens.  Give it a shot and see what you ‘think.’

  1. Wonder what mom is doing now.
  2. Why does everything have to be maintained? Houses, cars, crops and gardens, animals, us. What’s the purpose of that, if there is one? Is it part of some design, or not?
  3. I miss mail delivery twice a day, though it’s never existed in my lifetime any place I’ve lived.
  4. The chickadee is in the feeder. How does a bird that weight keep from being blown to the ground in 30 mph winds?
  5. Is Twitter really any more ‘me me me’ than anything else? I find it interesting to read other people’s tweets and difficult to come up with my own, just as in a face-to-face encounter at the coffee shop.
  6. Trying not to think about an elephant is hard. Yes, I mean an actual elephant.
  7. Where will I be living in a year (assuming I am living in a year)? Can I avoid buying the house and instead choose the community?
  8. I’m longing to be eating outside, on a warm day, near the ocean or the intercoastal waterway.
  9. What would my life look like if I completely had the faith of Jesus, i.e., if I were fully alive?
  10. As usual, more questions than anything else. So indeterminate.
  11. This is hard to do. With meditation, thoughts are more fleeting and the habit is not to hold them or crystallise them.
  12. Are we meant to protect people (adults) from themselves or from their circumstances? Another way to ask: How are we meant to care for each other?
  13. Why do dreams feel like such powerful, lingering experiences?
  14. Stainless steel appliances and granite countertops must be the most mimetic desire in North American culture. What a relief in my favourite UK home magazine to see none of it — they seem to use laminates and wood for surfaces, no stainless steel appliances. Stainless steel shows every fingerprint and granite is a menace to clumsy people everywhere.
  15. It’s hard to believe there are only two separate genders for most living beings.
  16. We have 7 or 8 Chinese and Thai restaurants around here but I seldom see an Asian person in town.
  17. I love my dog’s eyelashes.
  18. RIP Nick Plath.
One thought on “30 Thoughts in 30 Mins

  1. Loved your thoughfull deyails of the black water dam.

    The dam covered a vibrant river community in 1938
    Webster NH along the shores of the river. Now two building can be scene as they were moved from river side up the hill. The wooden bowl outlet and the webster historical society.
    http://www.newhampshirebowlandboard.com
    stop in and ask for directions to the fishing holes picnic spots and skinny dipping Enjoy the real New Hampshire

Leave a Reply

