Simple Woman’s Daybook

Getting this in under the Tuesday evening wire …

Outside my window… It’s dark and it’s snowing.

I am thinking… still (more) about the end of the world, reading deeper into Rene Girard’s Battling to the End, about mimetic theory, politics, war, violence, and apocalypse

I am thankful for… a friendly CPA, a sweet bulldog, a garage full of wood for the woodstove.

From the kitchen… The kitchen is stocked with wine, port, olives, crumpets, candy, chips, asparagus, red peppers, seltzer, cheeses, cereal, breads and teacakes, in case the  predicted 2 feet of snow we’re supposed to get tonight through Friday transpires.

I am wearing… jeans, a blue undershirt, a purple, grey and white LLBean wool sweater I’ve had for years.

I am creating… more space for openness of heart and mind

I am going… No plans to go anywhere before next Wednesday.

I am reading … Rene Girard’s Battling to the End (2007; transl 2010) and Alain de Botton’s The Architecture of Happiness (2006). Two non-fiction books for a change.

I am hoping… that all will work out with my mother and her finances, and for my sisters as they co-manage her needs.

I am hearing… the humidifier’s not-so-quiet rumble, the dog licking her chops and clicking her nails on the slate hearth, clocks ticking, the metallic creaks and groans of the woodstove, my husband at his computer

Around the house… I cleaned quite a bit in the last few days: one shower, one toilet, several linoleum floors, carpets in a couple of rooms, and a thorough cleaning and decluttering of my expansive white (IKEA, c. 1987) desk.

One of my favorite things … is gin and tonics with lime outside on a summer afternoon. I am yearning for summer even as I am excited for more snow.

A few plans for the rest of the week: Not sure if I will get to Tyrants on Thursday (it may be postponed if schools are) but I hope to attend as it’s Pol Pot and the Kims of North Korea, tyrants that I have a particular interest in. Otherwise, it appears that shoveling and some snowy walks to the library and coffee shop will be in the cards.

Here is picture thought I am sharing…

Bath ME in snow, Dec 2008

(Lots of other women write these, too: The Simple Woman’s Daybook)

Leave a Reply

