Simple Woman’s Daybook

Late(ish) once again …

Outside my window… It’s almost but not quite dark  (spring is coming!). There’s 2-3 feet of snow on the ground, some of it a bit slushy because temps were in the mid 40Fs today!

I am thinking… about spouse’s surgery in Boston tomorrow, and the logistics of driving there and back in the forecast snow

I am thankful for… sisters, electricity!, green veggies, wine

From the kitchen… Leftovers on the menu again: choice of leftover Chinese food from Sat. night or leftover bowtie pasta with asparagus, snap peas and green beans from last night.

I am wearing… jeans, a black undershirt, that wool grey cableknit sweater with the ‘mended’ holes

I am creating… a new vision of not-religion in my head/heart

I am going… to try to keep the 4 Agreements more firmly fixed in mind/heart: be impeccable with my word — don’t do damage with words; don’t take things personally; don’t make assumptions; and always do my best.

I am reading … Rene Girard’s Battling to the End (2007; transl 2010),  Alain de Botton’s The Architecture of Happiness (2006), and a Joanna Trollope novel.

I am hoping… that all goes well at the hospital tomorrow and on the road to and fro

I am hearing… the humidifier, the dog making delicate after-dinner noses, and assorted humming of unknown origins

Around the house… watered the plants today, need to vacuum, wishing snow were not melting and dripping on my head when I take the dog out the back door …

One of my favorite things … is not really worrying about random crime where we live. I can walk anywhere, alone, at any time, with very little chance, statistically, of attack. Risk is in the back of my mind but not the forefront.

A few plans for the rest of the week: T’s surgery tomorrow, Tyrants on Thursday, a furniture barn sale and perhaps meeting a friend for lunch on Saturday

Here is picture thought I am sharing…

National Cathedral, Feb 2008

(Lots of other women write these, too: The Simple Woman’s Daybook)

Leave a Reply

