Simple Woman’s Daybook

Outside my window… Abundant sunshine, 58F per our thermometer (in the sun), at least 2 feet of snow still on the ground everywhere.

I am thinking… about the usual: evil, love, beauty, resentment, forgiveness, puzzles.

I am thankful for… a sales contract for our other house!

From the kitchen… You won’t believe this but we are having leftover bowtie pasta with asparagus, sugar snap peas, pine nuts and shrimp, again. A different batch. It’s what I crave lately. I just ate some large green and kalamata olives before I sat down here.

I am wearing… jeans, a black undershirt, a microfiber grey fleece pullover.

I am creating… a sense of generosity and gratitude; resistance to making appointments (hair, vet).

I am going… to take a walk today, I hope.

I am reading … halfway through Rene Girard’s Battling to the End (2007; transl 2010);  racing to finish Louise Penny’s crime fiction, The Brutal Telling (2009) this afternoon – due at library today; just starting Stealing Athena, an historical novel for bookgroup. On tap: the massive Under the Loving Care of the Fatherly Leader: North Korea and the Kim Dynasty by Bradley K. Martin.

I am hoping… for a very clean MRI scan tomorrow.

I am hearing… the humidifier, the dog licking her chops, the ticking of the Allah clock in the kitchen

Around the house… I’ve opened the door to the sunroom just now to let the warmer air in.  I love all of our windows, especially as the sun increases and lightens the interior.

One of my favorite things … Dreams, although they ensleepen me and perplex me.

A few plans for the rest of the week: T’s MRI and his radiology appt. I need a haircut. Dog needs blood test and nails cut. More thank-yous to write and mail for memorial donations for Dad. More house contract papers to sign and fax and more house-selling details to attend to.

Here is picture thought I am sharing… I will miss the old garden.

The garden in May

(Lots of other women write these, too: The Simple Woman’s Daybook)

Leave a Reply

