Simple Woman’s Daybook

It’s Tuesday again! How quickly it does come around every week.

Outside my window… Rainy rainy rainy, and grey, and windy, and chilly (high 30sF). Water is pooling in the grass where there’s no snow, and snow is waning.

I am thinking… dark thoughts about so-called health care reform, politics, celebrations and recriminations by one side or another.

I am thankful for… text messaging, crime fiction, friends who invite me to stay at their houses, my mom’s part-time caregiver

From the kitchen… I can hear the dishwasher grumbling along its cycle. Later, I’ll be making seafood casserole for T. to eat while I am away the next few days.

I am wearing… jeans, a black undershirt, a microfiber grey fleece pullover. (That was easy — didn’t have to change anything from last week’s description.)

I am creating… lists aplenty

I am going… to Bath for a few days to see friends, go to my book group, and do house-sale things.

I am reading … still halfway through Rene Girard’s Battling to the End (2007; transl 2010);  finished Linda Fairstein’s latest (Hell Gate) last night; reading Stealing Athena, an historical novel for bookgroup; about one-tenth of the way through the massive Under the Loving Care of the Fatherly Leader: North Korea and the Kim Dynasty by Bradley K. Martin.

I am hoping… still, for a clean MRI result

I am hearing… the dishwasher, the dog’s melodic snoozy sounds, too many voices inside my head

Around the house…nothing much is happening; maybe when we get the house sale money, we can make some changes. But I’m less and less interested in decorating, remodeling, etc., as I age, just so long as my space is uncluttered.

One of my favorite things … dried pears, the kind that look like this (or unsulphured). Squishy sweet goodness.

A few plans for the rest of the week: House-sale finalising; trip to Bath; nothing beyond that.

Here is picture thought I am sharing…

sunroom windows, 20 march 2010

(Lots of other women write these, too: The Simple Woman’s Daybook)

Leave a Reply

