Simple Woman’s Daybook

Outside my window… It’s 54F and cloudy, with showers forecast.  Snow is now GONE! I’ve raked the back yard and cleaned up some of the garden beds.

I am thinking… about confirmation bias, unreligion, resurrection, self/other categories,  and so on; also about starting a vegetable garden.

I am thankful for… T’s clean MRI, that our house has SOLD, relatives and friends who travel to visit us, spring peeking its leafy, changeable head around the corner …

From the kitchen… the intoxicating smell of potato, onion and artichoke frittata …

I am wearing… jeans and a microfiber grey fleece pullover

I am creating… appetizers, list of appetizers, and grocery lists for relatives visiting this week and for small cocktail party on Friday evening

I am going… to the dump tomorrow, whoo-hoo.

I am reading … still halfway through Rene Girard’s Battling to the End (2007; transl 2010); about halfway through Kjell Eriksson’s crime novel, The Demon of Dakar; some Oldie magazines; a lot of WSJs; Alain de Botton’s The Consolations of Philosophy.

I am hoping… that relatives enjoy their visit this week; that friend’s sister L. recovers from surgery well; that A. recovers from hip surgery well

I am hearing… very little … the hum of the laptop …

Around the house… we have a new (used) sectional; we moved the love seat to a guest room; I’ve cleaned up the sunroom: all is in readiness.

One of my favorite things … is the sun (please, if you’re listening, come back to us)

A few plans for the rest of the week: nephew, sister and sister’s friend visiting Wed-Sun; perhaps trip to Boston; small cocktail party Friday evening; T’s radiation starts tomorrow morning.

Here is a picture thought I am sharing…

vernal pools and ponds, april 2010

(Lots of other women write these, too: The Simple Woman’s Daybook)

Leave a Reply

