Simple Woman’s Daybook

Outside my window… sunny, 56F, a bit misty but supposed to reach into the 70s today. Alpacas are resting in their yard. Our backyard doesn’t know it yet but big changes are coming soon.

I am thinking… about T’s pre-op today and his surgery on Friday, Jane and Herb, Connor at the beach, powers and principalities.

I am thankful for… transformation.

From the kitchen… dishwasher going, dehumidifier going, yummy blueberries and tea waiting

I am wearing… brown skort, sleeveless black polo shirt – ready for warmth!

I am creating… vague and intuitive designs for the garden that will be part of the patio/fence configuration in the backyard

I am going… to have to get to the ocean soon

I am reading … Peter Lovesey’s police procedural The Secret Hangman (2007; 9th in the series and the first one I’ve read); I See Satan Fall Like Lightning (Rene Girard; a re-read). Next: Isabel Allende’s Daughter of Fortune for bookgroup next week.

I am hoping… that T’s surgery is easy, with a good outcome and recovery, and that G. does well in the kennel. And that we get the lawn mowed before Friday.

I am hearing… the dishwasher. That’s all.

Around the house… we had 4 woodstove fires last week! I thought we were finished with that season but I guess not. Kind of nice, actually.

One of my favorite things… the ocean, the beach, the sound and smell of it all — I am yearning for North Myrtle Beach or Jekyll!

A few plans for the rest of the week: we met with garden designers last night; today T. is in Boston for pre-op and G. and I go to the vet for her shots; tomorrow is dump day!; Thursday afternoon I’ll (probably) take G to kennel; and Friday we go to Boston at 6 a.m. for surgery and will (probably) stay overnight there and come home on Saturday.

Here is a picture thought I am sharing…

Pine Point Beach, Scarborough ME, July 2009
Pine Point Beach, Scarborough ME, July 2009

(Lots of other women write these, too: The Simple Woman’s Daybook)

Leave a Reply

