Simple Woman’s Daybook

Outside my window… 67F sunny, with birdsong galore

I am thinking… about T in hospital and coming home (probably tomorrow); about C., with whom I have spent more time than usual lately; about summer and how much I love it.

I am thankful for… friends, compassionate and proficient nurses, the dog,  summertime, convenient inter-city bus service,  fresh raspberries, farmer’s markets.

From the kitchen… I am filling the kitchen compost container every other day with artichoke leaves and pea pods! And, I changed the long fluorescent light over the sink yesterday, something I would have left to T to do had he been here.

I am wearing… brown skort, red and brown sleeveless cotton top.

I am creating…and re-creating

I am going… to have to drive to Boston tomorrow to get T. — not looking forward to it. Also going out soon to fax and copy some papers related to T’s medical issues, and to scan some old photos.

I am reading … Stieg Larsson’s The Girl Who Played with Fire (2009).

I am hoping… that our health insurer pays the bills without a problem, that T heals well and completely, that the dog is not heart-broken w/o T here all this time, that the gulf oil can be contained without damaging the ecosystem and all those animals (I know — very wishful thinking, including time-travel … but still …).

I am hearing… so many birds, and the dog barking at the birds; the dryer going with the load of sheets and towels in it.

Around the house… I mowed on Friday and need to do it again tomorrow or Thursday. I need to vacuum but probably won’t. This house is so comfortable. And I am so glad, esp. in light of T’s recovery, that we chose a house with a first-floor master suite.

One of my favorite things… fresh peas, skorts, working out, summer.

A few plans for the rest of the week: visited T yesterday; today:  copying, faxing, scanning, laundry, and prepping the house for T’s probable return tomorrow; tomorrow: driving to Boston to pick up T; mowing Wed. or Thurs.; hope to get to James’ family 4th of July celebration on Sunday if I can leave T all day.

Here is a picture thought I am sharing…

Coffee bean vending (Quechee VT)
Chocolate-covered coffee bean vending (Quechee VT)

(Lots of other women write these, too: The Simple Woman’s Daybook)

One thought on “Simple Woman’s Daybook

  1. Hope T is out and about soon. Those chocolate covered coffee beans look yummy! Have a great 4th.

Leave a Reply

