Simple Woman’s Daybook (two days late)

Outside my window… partly sunny, 72F, breezy. The grass is newly mowed (by me!). And we have a new patio!

I am thinking… about plants for the backyard and other spaces; about the quagmire in Afghanistan;  about Jane and Herb.

I am thankful for… the body’s ability to heal itself; Gretchen’s normal kidney bloodwork today; gardens, and friends to tour them with.

From the kitchen… made tortellini salad a lot in the last week (with artichoke hearts, asparagus, black olives, peppers, carrots, shrimp, peas, lemon juice and olive oil)

I am wearing… brown skort, black sleeveless polo top

I am creating… the illusion of normalcy.

I am going… to type up notes from the last Afghanistan lecture, given by Peter Galbraith; to work on librarybooklists.org more in coming weeks.

I am reading … almost finished with Larsson’s The Girl Who Played with Fire. Then Ann Patchett’s Run and a Peter Lovesy crime novel. Also some articles about Afghanistan, Pakistan and Iran, for a lecture series.

I am hoping… T’s grafting surgery on Monday goes without problems and that the recovery is quick and complete.

I am hearing… the ice-maker occasionally drop some ice … not much else other than that breeze through the open windows.

Around the house… we now have a patio! In a few weeks, a fence, and then some plantings, and we’ll have a whole backyard!

One of my favorite things… still fresh peas, and I got some yesterday at the Co-Op!

A few plans for the rest of the week: go out for lunch tomorrow with T (first time in over a month we’ll have gone out together for a meal); admire patio and move furniture out to it;  T’s surgery on Monday (tentative) with visits every other day to hospital for a week or so; hopefully, hang out with the James sisters a week from Saturday.

Here is a picture thought I am sharing…

frog in Warner pond
frog in pond in Warner NH - I think the photo looks like wallpaper

(Lots of other women write these, too: The Simple Woman’s Daybook)

Leave a Reply

