Simple Woman’s Daybook

Outside my window… almost dark, 73F — we’ve had some lovely warm breezy days lately.

I am thinking… that I’ve driven more often and farther in the last two months than I did in the eight years before this.

I am thankful for… great nurses, the dog’s continued health, far-flung friends

From the kitchen… had leftover red beans and rice plus soy dogs, and an artichoke, for dinner tonight

I am wearing… brown skort, sleeveless red top

I am creating… a well-worn path to the hospital

I am going… to type up notes from the last Afghanistan lecture, given by Peter Galbraith (still not done)

I am reading … finished Larsson’s The Girl Who Played with Fire.  Now reading Tara French’s latest, Faithful Place, set in Dublin.

I am hoping… T comes home well on the road to recovery on Monday and that there are no more surgeries; that Anthem will pay for the $55K radiation claim they’ve denied as ‘medically unnecessary’ and ‘investigative’.

I am hearing… the hum of the dehumidifier in the laundry room from time to time … and the dog’s muted yet insistent pleas for her late-night nibble.

Around the house… it’s cool and pleasant. We have a new kitchen island we bought at a sale on Saturday. I’m thinking about designs and plants for the new garden.

One of my favorite things… riding buses and trains: the hours of nothing that has to be done 

A few plans for the rest of the week: lecture and Co-Op tomorrow, visit T at hospital Thurs or Fri, James sisters on Saturday.

Here is a picture thought I am sharing…

glass making in Quechee VT
glass making in Quechee VT

(Lots of other women write these, too: The Simple Woman’s Daybook)

Leave a Reply

