Recentish Reading: Desperately Seeking Frisson

>>>>>

The quest for frisson by Roger Ebert (May 2010): Ebert blogs about getting caught up in the online addiction to frisson (“a brief intense reaction, usually a feeling of excitement, recognition, or terror.”)

I felt an intense feeling of recognition reading his post — not the Twitter part but the web-surfing and the oohs and aaahs it evokes in me. And, I also get that intense feeling reading Girardian stuff, which is substantial, and other long articles and essays online and in print. Even when I read crime fiction, I feel connections and notice patterns that give me a buzz. Can nothing slake my curiosity? Enchantment is so present.

>>>>>

Leave a Reply

