Simple Woman’s Daybook

Outside my window… sunny, breezy, 54F — fall has begun

I am thinking… rather, worrying, about retirement, long-term care, medical costs, matters legal and financial, and the odds of and details involved in planning a possible vacation this winter.

I am thankful for… T’s clear chest scan and upbeat doctors’ visits yesterday and his continued recovery; plants and gardens; the dog

From the kitchen… the sound of the dog lapping her water

I am wearing… jeans, lavender and green checked flannel shirt

I am creating… gardens! (still!) (almost finished for the year)

I am going… to the garden center today! happy outing

I am reading … Nevada Barr’s Burn but I can’t really get into it, just not as well written as most of hers. Loved Stieg Larsson’s The Girl Who Kicked the Hornet’s Nest, after not much liking the first two books.

I am hoping… (same as last time) T’s recovery continues and the cancer doesn’t show up anywhere else; Anthem will pay for the radiation treatment; Jane is feeling supported and loved even as she feels bereft and vastly alone at times …

I am hearing… just the computer sounds now that dog has stopped drinking water

Around the house… lots of time spent working in the garden; have had fires in the woodstove twice this week; need to chop up some big logs outside and otherwise ‘winterise’.

One of my favorite things: friends visiting

A few plans for the rest of the week: garden work today and probably Saturday; meeting a friend for lunch on Sunday; haircut Monday.

Here is a picture thought I am sharing…

rainbow, 13 Sept 2010
(double) rainbow after T-storm the other night

(Lots of other women write these, too: The Simple Woman’s Daybook)

Leave a Reply

