Simple Woman’s Daybook

Outside my window… 55F at 1p.m., sunny, a warmish day of late. The leaves are mostly red and orange, with the yellow tulip poplar, and some limbs are bare.

I am thinking…about complex philosophical questions (really!) – the trolley experiment, existentialism, the virtue of virtue, expediency, contamination and purity, etc.  In other words, what is the best action to take?

I am thankful for… T’s job and that I don’t have to work

From the kitchen… we’ve been baking things with the apples from our trees.

I am wearing… jeans, black long-sleeved T, grey microfleece quarter-zip top (treated with something to keep dog hair off it), colourful striped Smartwool socks

I am creating… not sure … something creative (art?) is percolating, I feel

I am going… to Boston next week, I think. Also planning trip to VT for a weeks away, with dog.

I am reading … nothing! Still. I have Brooks’ The Year of Wonders (about the plague) to read for Oct. bookgroup but have not cracked the cover yet, and am awaiting three new crime novels on reserve at the library.

I am hoping… we can find someone to take care of the dog for two week over Christmas and New Years – still. It’s weighing on me.

I am hearing… gentle snoring of the dog, who is curled up in the wicker chair in the sun.

Around the house… thinking about curb appeal, i.e., making front door entrance look better; need to find better seating for sunroom and make it more appealing to me. 

One of my favorite things … my new computer! So much faster than the old one.

A few plans for the rest of the week … dump tomorrow, T has two medical appts tomorrow (PT and physical), dog back to vet for staples removal early next week, probably something outside this weekend if it doesn’t rain (though I hope it does for the garden’s sake)

Here is a picture thought I am sharing…

maple leaf in pine 29 Sept

(Lots of other women write these, too: The Simple Woman’s Daybook)

One thought on “Simple Woman’s Daybook

  1. I too, am thankful for my husband’s job and the fact that I don’t have to work. I find it a blessing to be able to stay home.

Leave a Reply

