Simple Woman’s Daybook

Outside my window… well — dark. 35F. Some perennials got a little squishy in the frost last night. Apples galore. Leaves about half fallen. Smells humousy.

I am thinking… about perhaps a quick trip to visit Mom over T’giving; about kenneling for dog over Xmas vacay;  about CXP on the Greyhound to San Diego (in NM now)

I am thankful for… G’s recovery from her cancer surgery; CXP OK out west; Tom.

From the kitchen… made a seafood casserole for dinner, our winter comfort food, with rolls and raw red pepper (usually we have spinach with it but I forgot to cook it) …

I am wearing… jeans, purple ls T, grey cableknit wool sweater, Smartwool socks

I am creating… lists of recipes in my head for Christmas gifts/parties

I am going… to Boston Thurs-Fri, maybe VT the next weekend, maybe south for T’giving.

I am reading … Peter Robinson’s latest, Bad Boy, and I still have Brooks’ The Year of Wonders for bookgroup at the end of the month, and Louise Penny’s Bury Your Dead (2010)

I am hoping… we can find a good kennel for the dog for two weeks over Christmas and New Years…

I am hearing… the pings of the woodstove as it heats and cools; T riding his exercise bike upstairs

Around the house… STILL thinking about curb appeal, i.e., making front door entrance look better; need to find better seating for sunroom and make it more appealing to me. 

One of my favorite things … texting with my nephew

A few plans for the rest of the week … Boston mostly

Here is a picture thought I am sharing…

cattails, 14 Oct 2010
cattails, 14 Oct 2010

(Lots of other women write these, too: The Simple Woman’s Daybook)

Leave a Reply

